Team GB annoucned squad for 2014 Olympic Games qualifaction tournament

LONDON, UK – Great Britain’s national ice hockey team have announced their roster for their crunch 2014 Sochi Olympic Games qualification tournament. GB coach Tony Hand has named 22 players in his squad for the tournament in Riga, Latvia next month.
As expected, the squad is filled with players from The Elite League, with Greg Owen from the Basingstoke Bison the only roster member from the English Premier League.
The winner of the tournament will qualify for the 2014 Sochi Olympic Games.
“I believe this is a very competitive squad and one of the most talented GB squads I have ever known” said Hand.
“We are going to Latvia as the underdogs and I am sure most people in the ice hockey world don’t expect us to qualify.
“There is no douting that it is going to be tough but we are going out there and will do Great Britain proud.”
Team GB are ranked 21st in the world and will face favourites Lativa (ranked 11th), France (ranked 14th) and Kazakhstan (ranked 17th).
One players missing from the squad is Guildford Flames’ David Longstaff, who has retired from international ice hockey.
“It has been a tremendous honour to play for the Great Britain national side” said the 38-year-old.
“I have played so many great team-mates, too many to mention, but they have all played a part in my GB career.
“I am proud that the last game I played for GB helped them reach the final stages of qualifying for the 2014 Olympics.”
The GB squad for Riga: Netminders: Ben Bowns (Hull Stringrays) Stephen Murphy (Belfast Giants).
Defencemen: Danny Meyers (Sheffield Steelers), Ben O’Connor (Arlan Kokshetau,Kazakhstan), Dave Phillips (Belfast Giants), Mark Richardson (Cardiff Devils), Rod Sarich (Sheffield Steelers), Mark Thomas (Sheffield Steelers), Jonathan Weaver (Nottingham Panthers).
Forwards: David Clarke (Nottingham Panthers), Robert Dowd (Troja-Ljungby,Sweden), Robert Farmer (Braehead Clan), Mark Garside (Belfast Giants), Jason Hewitt (Sheffield Steelers), Phil Hill (Cardiff Devils), Robert Lachowicz (Nottingham Panthers), Matthew Myers (NOttingham Panthers), Greg Owen (Basingstoke Bison), Craig Peacock (Belfast Giants), Jonathan Phillips (Sheffield Steelers), Colin Shields (Belfast Giants), Ashley Tait (Sheffield Steelers).
Reserves: Stevie Lyle (Basingstoke Bison), Geoff Woolhouse (Sheffield Steelers), Stevie Lee (Nottingham Panthers), Kevin Phillips (Braehead Clan), Russ Cowley (Coventry Blaze), Ben Davies (Cardiff Devils), Matty Davies (Hull Stingrays), Leigh Jamieson (MK Lightning), Aaron Neil (Swindon Wildcats).
Contact the author Follow us on Twitter @prohockeynews

Leave a Comment