Komets to honor goaltenders Adamson and Boucher Numbers 1 and 33 to be retired in ceremony October 26

FORT WAYNE, Ind — The Komets announced Monday that the team will honor former goaltenders Chuck Adamson and Nick Boucher by retiring their numbers Saturday, October 26, when the Komets host the Cincinnati Cyclones at the Memorial Coliseum at 7:30pm.

A pregame ceremony will place Adamson’s number 1 and Boucher’s number 33 in retirement. The numbers will join those of 13 previously honored Komet personnel. “The Komet Hockey Club has won a total of nine playoff championships in its history,” Komet general manager David Franke said. “Chuck Adamson and Nick Boucher account for six of those nine championships! What tremendous careers they have had and they both reside in Fort Wayne.” 757_fort_wayne-komets-primary-2013

Adamson won two IHL Turner Cup Championships as Komet netminder in 1963 and 1965, the club’s first two league crowns. During his Fort Wayne career the Sudbury, Ontario native was named a 1962-63 IHL Second Team All Star and a 1964-65 IHL First Team All Star. Adamson was awarded the 1964-65 IHL James Norris Memorial Trophy as Outstanding Goaltender of the Year.

Adamson holds Komet records of fewest saves in a game (8, March 27, 1965 vs Dayton), Most consecutive games by a Komet goaltender of 176 (Nov. 2, 1962-Jan. 22, 1965), most shots faced in a season of 2,532 and most saves in a season of 2,268 (1963-64).

Adamson began his career with the Komets appearing in all 70 1962-63 regular season games before backstopping the Komets to all 11 playoff games en route to Fort Wayne’s first league championship. He followed with appearances in all 70 1963-64 regular season games and added 12 playoff games while leading the Komets again to the IHL finals. In 1964-65 Adamson added 62 regular season games with the Komets before capturing his second IHL Crown appearing in all 10 postseason games. Adamson completed his career with the Komets playing four games during 1966-67 before announcing his retirement.

Boucher began his career with the Komets appearing in 31 games during 2007-08 and leading the Komets to the first of three straight IHL Turner Cup Championships (2008, 2009, 2010). During his first season in Fort Wayne Boucher led IHL goalies with a 2.32 goals-against average and .913 save percentage.

In 2008-09 Boucher added his second consecutive year as top goaltender in the IHL with a 2.43 goals-against average while leading with 32 wins. He also posted his second straight year of leading IHL goaltenders in the playoffs with a 1.75 goals-against average. Boucher was named IHL Goaltender of the Year for 2008-09 in addition to being named an IHL First Team All Star and voted by fellow players as the Komets’ Most Valuable Player of the Year.

In 2009-10 the Leduc, Alberta native led IHL goaltenders for the third straight season in the playoffs with a 2.62 goals-against average before collecting his third consecutive IHL Turner Cup Crown.

In 2011-12 Boucher topped CHL goaltenders and matched his career high of 32 wins. He posted three shutouts for a total of 11 Fort Wayne career shutouts. Boucher was named starting goaltender to the 2012 CHL All-Star Team and awarded his second Komets’ Most Valuable Player of the Year Award. Boucher finished the year tying Pokey Reddick’s Fort Wayne record of 12 wins in a playoff season by a goaltender while adding his fourth Komet championship.

Adamson and Boucher’s numbers will take their spot in the rafters of the Coliseum alongside Robbie Irons’ number 30 for a total of three Komet goaltender numbers retired. “Chuck Adamson and Nick Boucher hold Komet records that will never be broken,” Komet president Michael Franke said. “Their contribution to Komet hockey is something Komet fans will never forget. Every time you walk in the Coliseum you will be reminded of their greatness as goaltenders and as human beings.”

Both Adamson and Boucher will be present when the Komets retire their numbers at the ceremony in October. A complete list of retired Komet numbers is listed below.

Fort Wayne Komets list of retired jersey numbers:

Number Player

2 Guy Dupuis

5 Terry Pembroke

6 Lionel Repka

11 Len Thornson

16 Eddie Long

12 Reggie Primeau

18 Rob Laird

26 Colin Chin

30 Robbie Irons

40 Bob Chase

58 Ken Ullyot

59 Colin Lister

77 Steve Fletcher

#1 for Chuck Adamson and #33 for Nick Boucher will be added October 26, 2013.

Season opener Oct. 19– The Komets will officially open the 2013-14 season at home against the Toledo Walleye Saturday, Oct. 19 at 7:30pm. The Komets’ 62nd season features 36 home games while 36 road games are scheduled. View the entire 72-game schedule here.

The Komets will also host one exhibition game when the Wheeling Nailers visit for a preseason tune-up Saturday, Oct. 12 at 7:30pm at the Allen County War Memorial Coliseum.

Leave a Comment