American Hockey League adds to 2014 AHL All-Star Classic roster

AmericanHockeyLeague_aiSPRINGFIELD, MA – The American Hockey League announced today that Rochester Americans forward Luke Adam and Toronto Marlies forward Spencer Abbott have been added to the AHL All-Star roster for the 2014 AHL All-Star Classic presented by Assante Wealth Management at Mile One Centre in St. John’s, Newfoundland.

Taking place just prior to the start of the men’s Olympic hockey tournament, the 2014 AHL All-Star Classic will see a team of American Hockey League All-Stars face off against Färjestad BK, one of the top professional teams in the Swedish Hockey League, in an internationally televised two-day event including a Skills Competition on Tuesday, February 11 and the All-Star Game on Wednesday, February 12.

Adam, a native of St. John’s, has scored 19 goals and added 13 assists for 32 points in just 29 games for Rochester this season, while also notching one goal in nine National Hockey League outings with Buffalo. A second-round draft pick by the Sabres in 2008, Adam won the Dudley “Red” Garrett Memorial Award as the AHL’s outstanding rookie in 2010-11.

Abbott is currently fourth in the AHL in scoring, with 12 goals and 35 assists for 47 points in 43 games with Toronto in 2013-14. The native of Hamilton, Ontario, is in his second professional season after four years at theUniversity of Maine, and he made his National Hockey League debut with the parent Toronto Maple Leafs on Oct. 5, 2013.

Adam and Abbott will take the place of Manchester forward Linden Vey and Providence forward Ryan Spooner, both of whom will not be available to participate in the All-Star Classic.

The AHL All-Star team roster stands at 22 players – 13 forwards, seven defensemen and two goaltenders –selected by a committee of AHL coaches and general managers. The AHL All-Stars will be led in St. John’s byJeff Blashill, head coach of the 2013 Calder Cup champion Grand Rapids Griffins, and Rob Zettler, head coach of the defending Eastern Conference champion Syracuse Crunch.

2014 AHL All-Star Team


Spencer Abbott, Toronto Marlies (Toronto)

Luke Adam, Rochester Americans (Buffalo)

Brett Connolly, Syracuse Crunch (Tampa Bay)

Brian Gibbons, W-B/Scranton Penguins (Pittsburgh)

Mike Hoffman, Binghamton Senators (Ottawa)

Jason Jaffray, St. John’s IceCaps (Winnipeg)

Travis Morin, Texas Stars (Dallas)

Brandon Pirri, Rockford IceHogs (Chicago)

Colton Sceviour, Texas Stars (Dallas)

Colton Sissons, Milwaukee Admirals (Nashville)

Ben Street, Abbotsford Heat (Calgary)

Ryan Strome, Bridgeport Sound Tigers (N.Y. Islanders)

Joe Whitney, Albany Devils (New Jersey)


Chad Billins, Abbotsford Heat (Calgary)

T.J. Brennan, Toronto Marlies (Toronto)

Cody Goloubef, Springfield Falcons (Columbus)

Brenden Kichton, St. John’s IceCaps (Winnipeg)

Alexey Marchenko, Grand Rapids Griffins (Detroit)

Brayden McNabb, Rochester Americans (Buffalo)

Frederic St. Denis, Springfield Falcons (Columbus)


Jake Allen, Chicago Wolves (St. Louis)

Dustin Tokarski, Hamilton Bulldogs (Montreal)

The 2014 AHL All-Star Classic will mark the first time ever that a Swedish Hockey League team has competed in North America. Founded in 1932 and based in the city of Karlstad, Sweden, Färjestad BK – led by team CEOHåkan Loob – is one of the most successful franchises in all of European hockey, playing in 19 league finals and winning nine Swedish league championships, including four since 2002.

Sportsnet ONE will televise the AHL All-Star Classic live across Canada, and the league’s showcase event will also be seen throughout the United States on NHL Network as well as more than 25 regional networks, reaching more than 100 million households. In addition to the Skills Competition and All-Star Game, the 2014 AHL All-Star Classic will also include the 2014 AHL Hall of Fame Induction and Awards Ceremony, welcoming four new members into the AHL Hall of Fame.

Leave a Comment